Game Review (sort of) — Pokémon HeartGold (US)

April 2, 2010 at 10:14 am | Posted in Console, Pokemon | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

So, it came out in English a few weeks back and I’ve finished the majority of it. Actually, I finished the majority of it in a week, but that’s besides the point. I’ve been working on other parts to the game recently, so whatever. Since I already technically reviewed this game, since HeartGold and SoulSilver are really not that different, this is kind of a repeat sort of thing, with a bit more detail.

The Japanese SoulSilver post is here.

So, the story. It’s the same as the original Gold/Silver, but with a few Crystal elements thrown in. Typical Pokémon game main quest: you’re a 10(-or-so)-year-old kid out to become a Pokémon master by collecting badges, beating your rival, and collecting other Pokémon. In GSC and HGSS after a while Team Rocket appears out of no where (sort of)! Being an awesome kid, you go and thwart their asses back to some other region while on your quest for Johto badges, and Team Rocket is pretty much done. After that you finish collecting your badges in Johto, beat the Elite Four, and go to Kanto. In Kanto… … nothing really happens. You just collect the eight badges in whatever order you please, except that the Green/Earth badge must be collected last. Then you can go about beating Red if you wish to grind your ass off. At least in HGSS there are gym rematches to make all of that easier.

Yeah, pretty typical story. In the case of HGSS, this is pretty much what was expected, since after all it’s a remake. It didn’t disappoint since, after all, this is exactly what everyone knew was going to happen in these games.

Again, the game-play is standard Pokémon main game stuff. The battle graphics get a fresh coat of paint again, but that’s really about it. There’s some nice new features, like how the running shoes are a button on the bottom screen that can be permanently toggled on, but nothing really new to the game.

Graphics are, as I said before, DPPt style. They went a little bit more into it I think, with a few more smaller details, but there’s nothing really new about how they did the graphics in this. The Kanto and Johto Pokémon got new front sprites, some of which look good and others don’t, but again that was expected. Since this is kind of related, Kotone (no, I will not use her English name) is, in my opinion, amazing. I really do love her design much more than Kris’. Kris was good for her time, however she would have needed an overhaul anyways in my opinion if they had kept her for HGSS. I’m glad they didn’t though, since Kotone is just really cute and awesome.

Okay, so localization changes! All of the Team Rocket executives got name changes to something stupid. I knew they would need to change Lance because Wataru the Champion is known as Lance in English, however I really don’t get why they felt the need to change every executive’s name. :/ Also, oddly enough, the Korean version had an altered monk sprite which removed the prayer beads (and gave him a horrid looking red sash thing)… however this was reverted to the original in the US games. Yeah, I don’t get it either. On the other hand, the male swimmer sprite has once again changed from a speedo to trunks, even though, unlike in DPPt where his pose made him look as though he was almost wearing nothing, in HGSS you can clearly see he’s wearing the speedo. Another weird change, but I guess I should expect this. They also pumped some stupid memes into the game, including “A winner is you” (some guy in the bug catching contest when you win) and “Why so serious” (Rival, in one of the battles), none of which I like but whatever. Another weird thing is there are some male sprite trainers with female names in Green’s/Blue’s gym as well as a Bug Catcher Stacey in the Viridian Forest (bug catcher’s sprites look like young boys, but okay I guess it could pass for a girl…). I seriously question why, as their Japanese names sound pretty male to me, but whatever, guess this is some weird joke they put in or something. Also, because they changed the “Technique” stat to “Skill” in Pokéthlons/Pokéathlons, all of the medals have different graphics. Why they couldn’t just replace “TEC” with “SKL” or something, I don’t know. Oh, and the infamous game corner change. I… actually don’t really care anymore. I have my Japanese SoulSilver if I want anything from the game corner. Voltorb Flip, in my opinion, requires too much math work and time to earn the small amount of coins you can win. I don’t like it, so I won’t play it since all of the prizes I can just go buy off my Japanese SoulSilver.

Anyways, I didn’t enjoy this as much as my Japanese SoulSilver. I knew what I was getting to the T this time, but the localization changes kind of killed more of the fun. It was nice to play it in english, but after playing the Japanese version and actually understanding quiet a few things this time (unlike Pearl), the localization really got to me. I still have to train for Red, though I don’t know how long it will take because I just don’t feel as motivated. I’ve beaten him twice already in my Japanese SS, so it just kind of feels boring or something now. I do want the ribbons though. xD

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I saw where you wrote in a blog about japanese dittos – is it possible for me to get one from you for the Masuda Method?

  2. […] So, it came out in English a few weeks back and I've finished the majority of it. Actually, I finished the majority of it in a week, but that's besides the point. I've been working on other parts to the game recently, so whatever. Since I already technically reviewed this game, since HeartGold and SoulSilver are really not that different, this is kind of a repeat sort of thing, with a bit more detail. The Japanese SoulSilver post is here. So, the … Read More […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

