Game Review — Pokémon SoulSilver (JP)

November 4, 2009 at 6:41 pm | Posted in Console, Pokemon | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

This is a little over-due, but ah well, I remembered I should do this, and am going to now. This is going to be a brief review of Pokemon SoulSilver. There’s not a lot I can say about it really, since I only understand bits and pieces across the entire game, but I feel like I should make a post on the game as a whole anyways. There will still be a HG (US) post when I get that and finish it, of course.

Well, the story. Ahaha… ha… well, due to my limited Japanese, I’ll uh, leave this for comment on later. I did get a kick out of some of the lines I did understand (Dialog before the Clair and Lance (Champion) double battle), but yeah uh… I didn’t understand all too much. This will definitely be talked about a little more when I get my US version.

Game-play is your usual Pokemon game. Well, actually a lot of this is your usual Pokemon game. It’s the standard running around through towns to get badges like always. I guess it really is the charm of the series, something so simple. They know what to keep the same and what to try and make better is pretty much the best way to put it. The series still holds the great charm that it did all those years ago, but it’s got a new look.

Which brings me to graphics. They’re Diamond/Pearl/Platinum style, so it’s pretty much great as far as a Pokemon DS game goes. There really isn’t much I can say besides they still look nice.

To be honest, there really isn’t much to say about Pokemon. I love the game, don’t get me wrong, but besides that, there really isn’t much to say. I walked into the game knowing what I would see and what I would get, and the way it was executed was amazing, I really love the game… there just isn’t much to talk about. Plot is never supposed to be the main force behind your journey in Pokemon, unless “becoming the best there ever was” or whatever is considered a strong plot. And as a whole, Pokemon games aren’t exactly the most challenging games, but they really are fun. Though Red was a pain, he wasn’t exactly a challenge once you have your team ready to go and knew how to handle it (If anything, training for him is just plain tedious… =3=). I play Pokemon to have fun, and to get away from the complicated story lines and just relax with a simple “gotta catch ’em all” game. So what if it’s not hard or has a strong story? The fact is I enjoy playing Pokemon.

…Though I will say that unless you like Pokemon as well, it’s probably not worth it to get this game. xD

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Are there any significant gameplay changes between SS and Platinum?

  2. I haven’t actually played Platinum, so I have no idea.

  3. No mention of コトネ D=


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

