Ponyo — Anime Movie

August 17, 2009 at 12:16 pm | Posted in Movies | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

https://i0.wp.com/i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Chibi-Meower/blog/ponyo_002.jpgWell, since it recently released (The Disney Dub), I figured I would go see it with friends as part of my birthday party. Disney’s done Ghibli dubs, so I trusted them for the most part to at least give us a good dub. Not to mention the reviews I’ve skimmed have given it good ratings, plus friends on twitter said the dub wasn’t horrible. Though, I’ll agree… the remixed ending song may have been a bit much, it was a well done song and a remix is fine too. We only heard a little bit of the song though, since due to restricted license curfew, we all had to high-tail it out of the theater to make it home in time. Anyways, onto a review of sorts.

https://i1.wp.com/i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Chibi-Meower/blog/ponyo_004.jpgPonyo is a movie that sounds a little like The Little Mermaid, which, by the way, is my favorite Disney classic, so of course I was going to see this movie. I love things that have to do with the ocean, fish, and mermaids, so the minute I saw this trailer I knew I needed to see this movie. Ponyo is a little goldfish with a face who wants to become a human girl because she meets this 5-year-old boy, Sosuke. Her father seems to object at first, trying everything he can to keep her under the sea (cue Sebastian singing? xD), https://i1.wp.com/i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Chibi-Meower/blog/ponyo_003.jpgbut she quickly rebels and uses her magic to give herself hands and… hand-like feet. xD She rushes to shore to find Sosuke, accidentally causing a massive storm that pretty much floods the city. Crazy happenings follow, and lastly it ends with an adorably happy ending.

As for the dub, it was well done. I didn’t care that name actors/actresses were voices in the film, they did nice jobs and they brought the characters to life in English. Disney’s not bad at voice over work, so it should be expected that they don’t ruin the dub, so long as they get voices to match the characters. https://i1.wp.com/i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Chibi-Meower/blog/ponyo_001.jpgPonyo and Sosuke, voiced by the siblings on the major Disney singer(s) right now, were very cute. Both characters are cute, and the voices captured the fact they were young and still pretty innocent.

I really enjoyed the movie. And figuring by my friend’s status changes on facebook, they also enjoyed it a lot. the movie is adorable, cute, and well animated, and the dub captures the emotions well. I may not have watched the Japanese version of the movie, but I’m pleased with the English release, so I do hope to get it on DVD when possible.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your review makes me want to watch Ponyo so bad XD!

    where I live it’s no out yet :D

    Thanks for the review!

  2. Definitely one of the better Miyazaki films that I’ve seen in awhile with its charming story and wholesome characters. I’d also have to put the soundtrack as being one of the better ones that I’ve listened to recently even if the remix at the end was just slightly obnoxious.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

