Glorifying the US Anime Community?

August 13, 2008 at 10:59 am | Posted in Life, Rants | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Applying for College is looming over my head recently, and whats worse is these whole essay things. I get money from the colleges for doing this, but I suck at writing stuff like this. Last time I had an assignment like this was Sophmore year, and we were to try and not be found guilty of witchcraft. I wrote a stupid little paragraph on how I this, I that, tossed it the minute I got up there and owned the crap out of everyone else’s babble about how “I did this, and I did that. I, I, I.” It was hard enough to do that, but now this is to write about how I will benifit/contribute to their community/enviroment, using my talents, travels, leadership activities, volenteer services and cultural experiences.

Yeah. That last bit. Besides the lovely American culture, I see bits of Japanese culture via Anime and Manga and such. Granted, I know it’s not much of an acurate dipiction for the most part, but it’s something. But covering that would also prompt me to cover conventions… and the lovely people that join it. So how the hell do I sugar-coat Yaoi Fangirls and Narutards? Or do I just leave them purely out and just pretend they don’t exsist? And then there’s also the topics that anime itself covers, which is clearly something I shouldn’t say. At least not to a college I intend on applying to.

The task as a whole is daunting, and it doesn’t help that I’d rather be getting my 200 holes for PangYa today. Sugar-Coating the American Anime Community is not easy.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Getting in to college is a pain but once you get your books, ID, payments, and classes then all you have to worry about is work.

  2. ” So how the hell do I sugar-coat Yaoi Fangirls and Narutards?”
    Narutards dont exist, and if they do, you either deny their existance or exterminate them… as for Yaoi Fangirls/fanboys… denial, denial, denial (and fear) on my part…

  3. yays college!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

