Yaoi > Yuri?

March 31, 2008 at 8:19 pm | Posted in Manga, Rants, Yaoi/Yuri | 11 Comments
Tags: , , ,

yuripanicreview.jpg~<3

Let me first say I enjoy both Yaoi and Yuri. So it’s not like I’m truely bashing on everything Yaoi, it just seems there are more stupid Yaoi fans then there are stupid Yuri fans. Personally, I tend to hate on the Yaoi fangirls who think they’re all that (But then again, I hate those Narutards who think they’re all that as well, so it’s not just them either). Being the first real post for my blog, please bear with me.

Basically, I went to go and finally buy those Yuri titles I’ve been dying for, Kashimashi ~Girl Meets Girl~ as well as Strawberry Panic!, which aren’t too new, nor too old, so I figured the B&N would carry them, since they’ve slowly grown their Manga Selection in the bigger stores. They even put of those Tokyopop display cases with Tohru and that girl in Gakugan Alice or whatever up. They had the one with Christine from Dramacon up when that series finished off. It makes me happy to see that.

Anyways, so I head over to sing the alphabet to help me find the series (I can never remember my alphabet unless I sing it.), and I stare at the spot where these series should be, and just amazed. They don’t carry it in store. They carry Yaoi as far as the eye can see! (Well, that’s exsagerating, but still) And no pure yuri manga. While Loveless, yes, has yuri in it, it’s main characters have the yaoi-ism and the two yuri girls show up for a short time.

So I had to order both books. =___=;;; It’s frustrating to have to deal with that kind of annoyance. It’s one thing if the series were actually rather popular, and I doubt that. It means they don’t want to stock it. Sheesh. Fortunatly the books come in after 2-3 days, better then what they say to wait (They say 4-6 days), which is… somewhat odd. Anyways. Away I go~

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yeah, I know how you’re feeling about that (though, I’m both a yaoi and yuri fangirl equally).

    The reason why there’s a lot more yaoi manga is because there’s a much higher demand for it. They’ve been publishing yaoi in the United States since like…early 2006, I think, back when there was a HUGE yaoi boom in the industry. I remember going to ConnectiCon 2006 and seeing yaoi everywhere.

    Yuri was in high enough demand though to come over to the US. Yuri has JUST began being released here, starting Late 2007 (September/October/November). The demand is lower for yuri stories. There aren’t as many yuri manga as there are yaoi. I think most yuri manga are one shots and are released in magazines and never actually get released as an actual manga.

    …of course, you probably didn’t need me to tell you all that. XD

  2. I am not quite a rabid yaoi-fangirl but close. In highschool I was “The Yaoi Goddess”. I do not, however, think Im all that. Someone, in the past 4 years has surly taken my place.

    I have never gotten into Yuri but there is a store I go to often, Sarges Comics, that actually has a seperate section for Yaoi/Yuri. There are about 30 Yaois and about 6 Yuris. I was tempted to pick one up and look at it but they were closing. *sigh*

  3. I’m totally with u I prefer yuri over yaoi and when i go to my manga store all i found is that idiotic gravitation buuu and they say that maybe they will bring yuri someday ahhh they say the same with the kingdom hearts series and i had to ask the TokyoPop ones

  4. I personaly Like Yuri Strawberry Panic was too cute to stop watching. =^-^=
    Yaoi Is extreamly hot I like The relationship better then all the sex.

  5. I know what you mean, because I’m a fan of both myself. Yuri just doesn’t have as big a following (yet) so it’s hard to keep things in stock when they know they won’t sell as much as other things.

  6. It all depends on the person I’m Bisexual so I think both is pretty entertaining. It’s just the matter of the fact that we all enjoy it wether it’s not intended or is.

  7. Well, I love Yaoi, but I don’t really like Yuri. That’s because in Yuri I usually find cute, tender, innocent characters, and I hate those characters. I like characters that are strong and cute at the same time. But when I see Yuri I always fin cuteness and not strenght (I mean in personalities). And I find more strenght in Yaoi than in Yuri. But it’s not that I have something against Yuri, I’ve seen a couple series. But I didn’t like them. Well, anyways, what I wanted to say is that I’ve got tons of friends that love yaoi and they’re not stupid at all. In fact, some of them are really really smart. I think what you complain about is not stupidness, but an obssessive behaivor. I dunno. Anyways, I’m not stupid, and I think we should live and let live.

  8. Oh yeah, those girls in Loveless, the zeroes right? With the names on their boobs. Haha. The one who lost her powers was my fave character. ^_^

  9. omg yaoi and yuri XD XD XD

  10. I totally agree with you. I’m a yaoi and yuri fan but it seems that yuri comes in such short supply compared to yaoi. Then again around where I live it wasn’t until recently that they had yaoi at most stores. I’ve been able to find good yuri manga at my borders though. Like girl meets girl and also junjou romantica – a good yaoi but aside from that nothing really.

  11. I’m a bigger fan of yaoi than yuri, but I feel for you when you can’t find what you’re looking for. While yaoi has created a large following, many stores like Barnes and Noble still don’t carry much. My suggestion is to shop on Amazon, which has a much larger selection, and start looking for scanlations. Mangatraders.com usually has several good yuri titles avaliable.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

